About ISHIB/Committee & Council Members

ISHIB developed disease/lifestyle councils designed to provide clear direction to ISHIB leadership in areas linked to hypertension and to create a structure within ISHIB for accomplishing the broader involvement of our experts and committed members. The ISHIB Councils roles and responsibilities include the following:

  • To address disease/lifestyle management, research, lay education, and advocacy areas
  • To develop core working groups around disease, research, lifestyle or health policy and promotion
  • To develop regional program content and delivery of needed professional education
  • To develop annual meeting content and themes

  • Ethnicity & Disease Editorial Board

    Ethnicity & Disease, is the Society’s peer-reviewed, refereed medical journal. The journal is a highly respected source of information on disease patterns in ethnic minority populations throughout throughout the world. Guided by a distinguished international editorial board, Ethnicity & Disease offers original reports, book reviews, and commentaries by leading physicians and scientists engaged in medical research. The editorial board members review manuscripts based on expertise and contribute to special sections of the journal.

    Designed to promote the vision, mission and objectives of ISHIB and encourage interdisciplinary membership in the Society including medical researchers, physicians, physician assistants, nurses, pharmacists, dietitians, nutritionists, public health professionals, medical students, social workers and other health care providers.

    Editorial Board

    Keith C. Norris, MD

    Associate Editors

    Sharon K. Davis MEd, MPA, PhD
    Carla Yunis, MD, MPH

    Basic Science
    Sandra A. Harris-Hooker, PhD

    Michael E. Griswold PhD

    Behavioral Science
    Ken Resnicow, PhD
    Roland J. Thorpe, Jr., PhD

    Public Health
    Luisa N. Borrell, DDS, PhD, MPH

    Editorial Board Members

    Lawrence Y.C. Agodoa, MD
    Brent M. Egan, MD
    Felicia C. Goldstein, PhD
    German T. Hernandez, MD
    Michel Joffres, MD, PhD
    Daniel T. Lackland, DrPH
    Ike S. Okosun, MS, MPH, PhD
    Samuel T. Olatunbosun, MD, Lt Col, USAF, MC, FACP, FACE
    Eberechukwu Onukwugha, PhD
    David C. Parish, MD, MPH
    George P. Patrinos, PhD
    George Rust, MD, MPH
    Isabel C. Scarinci, PhD, MPH
    Jay J. Shen, PhD
    Paul B. Tchounwou, ScD
    Norman J. Temple, PhD
    Marshall Kerr Tulloch-Reid, MBBS, M.Phil, DSc
    Ralph Watson, MD, FACP
    William B. White, MD

    Managing Editor

    Anne M. Dubois, APR, CPRC

    Technical Editor

    Mark H. Betourné

    Subscription Manager

    Terry Jackson